letter · new years resolution · poetry

Washed Away

I’m breaking down the truth
with all the urgency of youth
before I leave it all behind.
And I forget to remember
each weighted moment
and whispered word —
every movement that pulsed
with things unspoken,
but not unheard.
I try to ride the raging tide
of our torrid love
once more.
But something has
shifted inside.
Where once there was a story,
now only blank pages remain.
And I can only curse
the day that I met you,
because nothing now will ever
be the same.
And I do not have the heart
to write another story…
to face the fact that ours
was washed away.

Leave a Reply

