journal · letter · new years resolution · prose

here

My Dear,

You scurry through the corners of my periphery. Here, then gone. There and gone again. Mocking me and melting into shadow. You know I cannot reach you. I cannot hope to catch what is so quick to come and go – what is long gone. And now I disappear; I appear here. I tiptoe on the ledges of your world. Rush in eagerly to greet you and I falter – momentarily paralyzed by a past that never was. But there you are, and here I come, and you are here! We recapture moments lost and revisit everything that could have been. I know that when I reappear, no one will be here. You will be gone.

But for a moment, you were here.

Yours,

Leave a Reply

