journal · poetry

Night

Spring’s rain is gently falling
while I lie in bed and smile
pondering on this love
that wakes with the morning light
it seeks your heart in the quiet
and fills me with delight
as I lie in bed and smile
and dream of you each night.

Summer’s sun scatters the clouds
as I lie in bed and wait
for my love to claim a space
within the confines of your arms
but in seeking your heart, it faltered
and returned to my heart, unbound
so I lie in bed and wait
for you to come around.

Fall’s wind bristles the leaves
As I lie in bed and pray
for love to blossom in your heart
or tenderness to guide your way
but little grows in fall
so I just lie in bed and pray
that you’ll end up whole and happy
in some way.

Snowflakes melt on lashes, somewhere
as I lie in bed and weep
and wish my heart would harden to you
that no more tears would frost my cheeks
I’ve watched the hyacinths bloom and wither
and feel the ruin of winter’s decay
As I lie in bed and weep
and wish my aching soul could keep
yours close beside it.

Your clamoring silence deafens
as I rise to greet the moon
I’m now a creature of the night
insane with missing you
the world keeps coursing onward
but your absence has halted mine
and so I rise to greet the moon
For this first and final time.

Leave a Reply

