journal · poetry

Greed

Have I ever been in love
before this moment?
That’s all it takes
to break you
make you crumble
I stumble underneath
the weight of a thousand no’s
for just one yes
and guess that I will never live
to be that blessed.
You keep taking
more and more
and giving
less and less
as the least I hope for
passes by
unnoticed
by you.
Yet onward I continue
and I wonder:
is this where I come from
or is this where I’ve been?
Is this a beginning
or is this the very end?
I can’t pretend to
or even begin to
comprehend
that I could love you for
a thousand lifetimes
unseen and unknown
unwanted
unheard
and unacknowledged –
but never stop.
I wish the heart could only
choose its burdens.

Leave a Reply

