journal · poetry

Capitulation

You vanished, but your traces still remain in my
love, banished to the corners of my soul,
seeping outward from the nooks of my heart.
I cannot look upon it
without fear it will release
the memories of you near to me.
I couldn’t bear it.
I just don’t care for the reminders
of what could or might have been.
It does no good to ponder what can’t be.
And to dwell upon what was
allows your hellish spell to romance me
and entirely entrance me, once more.
I couldn’t bear it.
I’ve been wearing my love for you
on my battered, tattered sleeves,
and sobbing songs of loss
for far too long, my dear.
And I just can’t bear it
anymore.

Leave a Reply

