journal · poetry

Remember

I still miss you.
But the feeling has transformed
from constant throb
to quiet ache.
It’s gently filling out the shape
you left behind.
As I rewind through moments
where your enchanting mind
had captured me,
your quiet heart
enraptured me,
your witty words,
your rough love,
your flippant ways…
all those enticing,
deadly daggers
that left me
crumbling in your wake.
You had so ensnared me…
it’s too dangerously easy
to lose myself in memory.
Best just to forget you,
live, let live, and start anew.
And yet,
before I do,
I must stop and wonder
if you ever
remember too.

One thought on “Remember

Leave a Reply

