poetry

Goodnight, Goodbye

I sleep to dream,
I dream to weep,
these haunting tears that never fall.
I fade to find
a peace of mind,
a release to the ache locked within.
But I fail each time I try.
Goodnight, goodbye.

I dare to hope,
I hope to feel.
Emotion still stirs, nervelessly.
I feign to touch
my shadowed soul.
A silent scream resounds in me,
and I fail to take my flight.
Goodnight, goodbye.

A whisper, a wish, a kiss,
these quiet joys lost in emptiness.

I breathe to live,
I live to die.
Choking to keep my secrets kept.
I wish to feel,
a wish to heal,
nothing can ease this suffering,
so I’ll end with a sigh…
Goodnight,
my love,
Goodbye.

Leave a Reply

