journal · poetry

Question Marks

Little inconsistencies
seeping through the cracks
is it my imagination
or your uncertainty?
And I am always waiting
for the worst to come and happen
while hoping for the best
of what could or couldn’t be
you see –
I’m changing my life
I’m changing my life
I’m changing my life
for you.
The ties break or cut,
and I sever with them.
Fraying at the edges of reality.
Blurring truth
with faith.
Oh, I’d been biding time
for this
committing crime,
feeling hopelessly sublime
aching with these riddles
of the heart and of the mind.
You know –
I’m living my life
I’m living my life
I’m living my life
for you.
Scratching out the past
and creating something new.
It was you and me
now without you
there remains the caustic question
of what’s surreal
or really real.
What’s right or
wrong to feel
or if there’s any way to heal
what has or might have been.
I know, it’s
completely senseless,
completely baseless,
and completely unrealistic.

Leave a Reply

