journal · poetry

Happiness

Do I?
Do I remember happiness?
I sense its vague shadow
its edges flee by
in a sea of blissful faces
silk ribbons in my hair
flying freely through the air
the freedom of the free
the moment escapes me.
Do I remember peace?
If it once or ever dwelt
quiet moons light blackened nights
gazing out on city lights
the only place busier than I am.
Begging for release from constant motion
constant feeling
constant time
time, time,
never mine, never yours
do I remember?
Do I? do? I do? I do.
Scurrying away
restless in the sunset
creeping over clouds
to find someone new.

Leave a Reply

