journal · poetry

Stand

Here I stand
I stand at the crossroads
I stand
I wait
I wait for the moment
What moment?
I do not exist here
in this place
I never have.
All around me is failure
and envious success
and I stand
untouched
unmoved
Unnoticed by the masses.
Because who would notice?
Somebody just like everybody else.
Somebody just like you
like me
he, she, they
we.
It’s all irrelevant
because I’m still here
standing
still as stone.
So much for hard work
so much for intelligence
so much for anything
& I wonder if  I should move on
to what?
I suppose I’ll just stand around.

One thought on “Stand

Leave a Reply

